## PROFILE OF SWPA POWER And Its Impact On Texas

Almost 1.5 million Texans enjoy the benefits of clean, renewable and efficient hydropower generated at Corps of Engineers multipurpose reservoirs and marketed by the Southwestern Power Administration. SWPA power distributed to businesses and industry also supports more than 270,000 jobs in the state with a payroll of almost \$5 billion annually.

The power marketed by SWPA is generated at 24 Corps dams in the region, including four in Texas: Denison Dam/Lake Texoma, Robert D. Willis/B.A. Steinhagen Lake, Sam Rayburn and Whitney. In 2001 these four dams generated **607 million kWh** of electricity, or more than 13 percent of the energy generated by SWPA's system. SWPA customers, through their electric rates, will repay 29 percent of the entire cost of constructing these four lakes — almost **\$82 million** — plus interest!

SWPA power is distributed in the state by the following consumer-owned, not-for-profit electric systems:

- Bartlett Electric Cooperative, Inc., Bartlett
- Belfalls Electric Cooperative, Inc., Rosebud
- B-K Electric Cooperative, Inc., Seymour
- Bowie-Cass Electric Cooperative, Inc., Douglassville
- Brazos Electric Power Cooperative, Inc., Waco
- Cherokee County Electric Cooperative Association, Rusk
- Comanche County Electric Cooperative Association, Comanche
- Cooke County Electric Cooperative Association, Muenster
- Deep East Texas Electric Cooperative, Inc., San Augustine
- **Denton County Electric Cooperative, Inc.**, Corinth
- Dickens Electric Cooperative, Inc., Spur
- Erath County Electric Cooperative Association, Stephenville
- FEC Electric Cooperative, Inc., Greenville
- Fannin County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Bonham
- Fort Belknap Electric Cooperative, Inc., Olney
- Gate City Electric Cooperative, Inc., Childress
- Grayson-Collin Electric Cooperative, Inc., Van Alstyne
- Hamilton County Electric Cooperative Association, Hamilton
- Hill County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Itasca
- Houston County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Crockett
- J.A.C. Electric Cooperative, Inc., Bluegrove
- City of Jasper
- Jasper-Newton Electric Cooperative, Inc., Kirbyville
- Johnson County Electric Cooperative Association, Cleburne
- Kaufman County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Kaufman
- Lamar County Electric Cooperative Association, Paris
- City of Liberty
- City of Livingston

- McLennan County Electric Cooperative, McGregor
- Mid-South Electric Cooperative Association, Navasota
- Navarro County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Corsicana
- Navasota Valley Electric Cooperative, Franklin
- New Era Electric Cooperative, Inc., Athens
- Northeast Texas Electric Cooperative, Longview
- Panola-Harrison Electric Cooperative, Marshall
- Rayburn Country Electric Cooperative, Rockwall
- Rusk County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Henderson
- Sam Houston Electric Cooperative, Inc., Livingston
- Sam Rayburn G&T, Inc., Nacogdoches
- Sam Rayburn Municipal Power Agency, Livingston
- Tex-La Electric Cooperative of Texas, Nacogdoches
- Tri-County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Azle
- **Upshur RECC**, Gilmer
- Wise Electric Cooperative, Inc., Decatur
- Wood County Electric Cooperative, Inc., Quitman

## If you have any questions concerning federal hydropower operations, contact:

**Ted Coombes Executive Director** Southwestern Power Resources Association P.O. Box 471827 Tulsa, OK 74147 (918) 622-7800 FAX: (918) 622-8141

Col. Gordon Wells Fort Worth District Engineer U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 819 Taylor Street Fort Worth, TX 76102

(817) 978-2300 FAX: (817) 978-3313

Michael Deihl Administrator Southwestern Power Administration P.O. Box 1619 Tulsa, OK 74101 (918) 595-6601 FAX: (918) 595-6758

Col. Robert Suthard, Jr. Tulsa District Engineer U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 1645 S. 101<sup>st</sup> E. Ave. Tulsa, OK 74128 (918) 669-7201 FAX: (918) 669-7207