

## Southwestern Power Resources Association (SPRA):

Since 1957, rural electric cooperatives and public power systems in the southwestern region have been joined together as members of the SPRA. Federal hydropower is a cost-effective, environmentally friendly power source for nearly *1,138,549 Arkansans*. Nearly *40%* of the citizens of Arkansas are able to take advantage of this clean energy.

- What began as the Committee on Power for the Southwest, SPRA continues as a voluntary, not-for-profit organization of consumer-owned electric systems located in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas.
- These systems are customers of the Southwestern Power Administration (SWPA), headquartered in Tulsa, Oklahoma, which markets hydroelectric power generated at 24 multi-purpose Corps of Engineers water projects in this region.
- SWPA also operates 1,380 miles of high-voltage transmission line, 25 substations, and 46 communications sites and markets 2,052.5 MW of capacity and an estimated annual energy of 5,570,000 MWh.
- The power marketed by SWPA is generated at 24 Corps projects in the region, including nine in Arkansas: Beaver, Blakely Mountain, Bull Shoals, Dardanelle, DeGray, Greers Ferry, Narrows, Norfork, and Ozark.
- For almost 60 years, SPRA has fiercely protected the rights and interests of federal hydropower customers to Congress, the Administration, federal and state agencies including DOE, the Corps, US Fish and Wildlife Service, and state fish and game agencies.
- SPRA works in collaboration with SWPA and state and national trade associations such as APPA, NRECA, AMPA, AECI, many others.

SWPA power is distributed in the state by the following consumer-owned, not-for-profit electric systems:

- Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp., Little Rock
- Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative Corp., Ozark
- Ashley-Chicot Electric Cooperative, Inc., Hamburg
- City of Augusta
- City of Bentonville
- C&L Electric Cooperative Corp., Star City
- Carroll Electric Cooperative Corp., Berryville
- Clarksville Light & Water Co.

- Clay County Electric Cooperative Corp., Corning
- Craighead Electric Cooperative Corp., Jonesboro
- First Electric Cooperative Corp., Jacksonville
- Jonesboro City Water & Light
- Mississippi County Electric Cooperative, Blytheville
- North Arkansas Electric Cooperative, Inc., Salem
- Oauchita Electric Cooperative Corp., Camden
- Ozarks Electric Cooperative Corp., Fayetteville
- Paragould City Light & Water
- City of Paris
- **Petit Jean Electric Cooperative**, Clinton
- Piggott Municipal Light, Water & Sewer
- Rich Mountain Electric Cooperative, Inc., Mena
- South Central Arkansas Electric Cooperative, Arkadelphia
- Southwest Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp., Texarkana
- Woodruff Electric Cooperative Corp., Forrest City

Please contact my office with any questions regarding federal hydropower:

Nicki Fuller, Executive Director Southwestern Power Resources Association (SPRA) Office: (918)622-7800 Cell: (417)839-1809 Email: nfuller@sprahydro.com